Sunday, April 5, 2015

In Support of Teesta Setalvad, Javed Anand and others:

Press Statement
3rd  January, 2015

In Support of Teesta Setalvad, Javed Anand and others:
We are deeply shocked and outraged by the continuing attempts of the Modi government and the Gujarat police to somehow implicate the human rights lawyers and activists, Teesta Setalvad, Javed Anand along with three victim survivors of the state sponsored carnage in Gujarat in 2002 on patently trumped up charges.
This is another attempt to derail justice particularly Zakia Jafri’s appeal which is now before the Gujarat High Court where she has accused the then Gujarat chief minister, Narendra Modi, the home minister of Gujarat along with 59 others which include top politicians, civil servants of conspiracy for mass murder and other serious crimes.
It is extremely significant that the amicus curiae appointed by the Supreme Court, Mr. Raju Ramachandran  has told the apex court there was enough prima facie evidence to prosecute Shri Modi.
Teesta Setalvad and Javed Anand are being specially targeted since they are among the founding members of Citizens for Justice and Peace(CJP) which has been leading the struggle for justice for the victims and survivors of the Gujarat carnage.  The CJP has won significant victories in the struggle for justice for the victim-survivors of the Gujarat pogrom.
Equally condemnable is the hounding in the same alleged “cheating” case, of three office bearers of Gulberg Housing Society, Ahmedabad, each of whom lost several family members when police watched as frenzied mobs attacked their colony on February 27, 2002. Among them is Tanvir Jafri whose father and former Congress MP, Ehsan Jafri was mercilessly butchered along with 68 others.
Teesta Setalvad and others have rebutted the charges in affidavits filed in courts. They have also charged the Gujarat police of spreading falsehood.
 As citizens committed to the Rule of Law, we denounce the vengeful action of the Modi government and the Gujarat police, and demand immediate withdrawal of the motivated and baseless FIR against Teesta Setalvad, Javed Anand, Tanvir Jafri and the office-bearers of the Gulberg Society.
1-      Prof. Dipak Malik, Hon. Director, Gandhian Institute of Studies
2-      Dr. Kashinath Singh, Renowned Story Writer
3-      Shri Vibhutinarain Rai (IPS), Ex.. DGP, U.P & VC MGHVD , Wardha-
4-      Prof. Rooprekha Verma, Ex. VC Lucknow University-
5-      Prof. Chauthiram Yadav, Deptt. of Hindi, BHU
6-      Sant. Vivekdas, Mahant Kabir Math-
7-      Prof. Vasanthi Raman, CWDS
8-      Dr. Sandeep Pandey, Magsaysay Awardee & Social Activist
9-      Prof. Qamarjahan, Ex. HOD Deptt. of Urdu BHU
10-  Dr. Swati, Samajvadi Jan Parishad
11-  Neeti bhai, Gen. Sec. Lok Chetna Samiti
12-  Fr. Anand, Director, Vishwa Jyoti Sanchar Kendra
13-  Dr. Anand Deepayan, Deppt. of Geography BHU
14-  Dr. Sanjay Srivastava, Gen. Sec. Progressive Writer’s Association
15-  Haji Ishtiyaq, Gen. Sec. Sir Syed Society
16-  Fr. Chandrakant, Director, Maitree Bhawan
17-  Dr. Vallabhacharya Pande, Asha Trust
18-  S.M.Yasin, Jt. Sec. Anjum-E-Entezamia Masajid
19-  Dr. Lenin Raghuvanshi, Director, PVCHR
20-  Dr. Neeta Chobey, Samajvadi Janparishad
21-  Nandlal Master, Lok Samiti
22-  Mehdi Bakhat, Principal, BBS
23-  Shruti Nagwanshi, Sec. Savitri bhaee Phule Org.
24-  Virendra Yadav, Distt. Coordinator, IPF
25-  Dr. Muniza R. Khan, Act. Registrar, GIS

Muniza R. Khan
Gandhian Institute of Studies Campus
Rajghat, Varanasi

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.